Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events

  • D-DAY Virtual Evening
    Sat., Jun. 05
    Jun. 05, 7:00 p.m. EDT
    Virtually bring members of the Airborne Community together on the evening of Saturday June 5th, 2021 (1900) in order to recognize the 77th Anniversary of D-Day and maintain the airborne spirit.
  • 2021 AGM - Annual General Meeting
    Sat., May 15
    Zoom meeting
    May 15, 1:00 p.m. EDT
    Zoom meeting
    Virtual Meeting

The 2019 winner of this award was

Master Corporal J.M.P.L. Lizardo

3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Light Canadian Infantry. 

Previous winners of the award were:

  • 2019 Master Corporal J.M.P.L. Lizardo, 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

  • 2018 Master Corporal C.J. Mills, 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

  • 2017 Master Corporal J.E. Hamilton, 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

  • 2016 Master Corporal Scott Galt, 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

  • 2015 Master Corporal Leander Volz, 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

  • 2014 Master Corporal T.A. Henrich, 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

  • 2013 Master Corporal Keven M. Leblond, 3e Bataillon Royal 22e Régiment

  • 2012 Master Corporal Nicholas Turner, 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

  • 2011 Corporal Alex Dejardins, Canadian Forces Land Advanced Warfare Centre

  • 2010 Master Corporal Chris Griffiths, The Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada

  • 2009 Corporal Patrick Cayer, 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment

  • 2008 Corporal W.J. Goudie, 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry

  • 2007 Master Corporal Kent Schmidt, Canadian Forces Land Advanced Warfare Centre

  • 2006 Master Corporal Ryan Pederson, 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry


Applications due – 30 June
Selection committee meets – 30 July
Awards issued – 15 August


Applications may be made in English or French.  To permit processing and selection prior to the upcoming academic year, the following documents must be received by the designated CAFA Scholarship Chairman by or on 30 June at the latest:

  • Completed Scholarship Application in the format at Appendix 1 to CAFA SOP Number 3;

  • Proof of Acceptance at the proposed post-secondary academic institution. (If available but to follow if not); and

  • Academic Transcripts of the previous academic year and the current academic year when available. If the current end-year transcript is unavailable, an interim transcript reflecting the year up to and including the last term.

Candidates must ensure that copies of “letters of acceptance” from the proposed post-secondary academic institution and their “final transcripts of marks” have been submitted before any award will be made. Candidates who fail to provide the required documents on or by 15 August without valid reason, shall forfeit their standing.


To be eligible, candidates must have been accepted at a post-secondary institution and will have demonstrated academic aptitude. Candidates are limited to one award. Eligibility is as follows:

  • Members of CAFA, ARAC or other constituent associations;

  • Spouses, children, or grandchildren of an association member, (be the member living or deceased);

  • A member in good standing of a Cadet Corps affiliated with CAFA or ARAC; or

  • Any Army Cadet who is a qualified Canadian Forces Parachutist.


Scholarship Chairman, Bruce Ewing
Tel: (613) 583-6094,  Email:

53 Chartwell Crescent, Kingston, Ontario  K7K 6P2

Donate to the Fund

In mid-August 2020 Aaron Day was selected by a committee of five ARAC / CAFA members from among a very strong group of eight applicants to receive the 2020 Airborne Forces Scholarship of $2000. Aaron is a full-time student at Acadia University in Wolfville, Nova Scotia, where he has already completed his first year in a challenging Kinesiology program. 


Aaron’s academic performance in high school and in his first year of university was consistently very strong and he was also heavily involved in sports and other activities.


Aaron spent six years in Army cadets and finished as the RSM of his Corps.  He also completed the CAF Army Cadet Basic Parachutist course in summer 2018 as an army cadet during which he achieved top candidate on his course. He also subsequently served as the 2019 Army Cadet BPara serial CSM.  


The bursary cheque was presented to Aaron on 1 September 2020 at the home of Warrant Officer (Retired) Cameron Chisholm McKay (Medical Assistant) who lives close to Aaron in New Glasgow with his wife Renate. A CAFA member, Cameron is 79 years old and has suffered from Multiple Sclerosis for 26 years but agreed to present on behalf of ARAC and CAFA as he was the only CAFA member in that part of NS. Cameron completed Basic Parachute Course No 373  at the  CJATC 9-Canadian Joint Training Centre in 1964 and was fortunate to serve several postings in Germany in both 1965 and 1975 as well as a UN tour in both Cyprus and Uganda.   

Special thanks to Renate McKay for organizing the presentation and taking the photo.  


Also special thanks to the CO and RSM of the CAAWC Trenton who has been instrumental in advising Army Cadet graduates of their Basic Para Course of this valuable opportunity to assist them with their academic studies. 


The Airborne Forces Scholarship Fund has been jointly established by the Canadian Airborne Forces Association (CAFA) and the Airborne Regiment Association of Canada (ARAC). Further info regarding applying for the Scholarship can be found on the CAFA website (located above) or the ARAC website at . 


This information is being posted separately on CAFA and ARAC websites and on relevant Airborne community Facebook sites. 


Photo caption:  Cameron McKay, CAFA member in New Glasgow, presents Aaron Day, the 2020 winner of the Airborne Forces Scholarship, with a cheque for $2000 to assist with his university education at Acadia.



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download



Click the photo to download